The Landy

John Landy

John Landy – one of the icons of Australian athletics


Leo Coffey leads eventual Landy Trophy 2006
winner Hugh Coogan around the turn in their 200m heat

  • First run in 2000, The Landy Trophy is conducted on the first Monday after February 14 each year.
  • Named in honour of one of the icons of Australian athletics, John Landy, who has since been Governor of Victoria.
  • Run in a heats and final format from handicaps based on age and gender, somewhat in the style of horse racing's time-honoured 'weight-for-age' scale.
  • Is now generally regarded as the most prestigious single event in Australian Masters' Athletics.
  • Has had seven high-profile Olympians as guest presenters to date -- Peter Norman, Gary Honey, Ray Weinberg, John Landy, David Culbert, Charlene Rendina and Haley McGregor.
  • Has an undertaking from John Landy that he will present the trophy whenever available to do so.
  • Program also includes The Doncaster Dash, over 100 metres, for members of Doncaster Little Athletics. This event features male and female competitors, and is also run from handicaps based on age and gender.

The Landy 2014

Please be advised: the Landy event will not be run in 2014, this is due to the scheduling of the refurbishment of the Doncaster track.

Proudly Sponsored By

  • Renown Silverware
  • Beauty Necessities, Doncaster
  • Motto
  • Qualitops, Collingwood
  • JNJ Electrics,  Greensborough
  • Melican Grainger, Accountants, Greensborough
  • Runners' World, East Kew
  • RHSports, Ringwood

The Landy Trophy Handicaps

  200M Run 1000M Run 400M Run
Handicaps calculated according to the Age-Graded Percentage Scale.

The Doncaster Dash 100M Handicaps

Age Boys Girls
Handicaps calculated according to the Age-Graded Percentage Scale.

The Landy Shield

An Inter-Venue award to be contested between member venues of VMA, to be run in conjunction with The Landy Trophy.

1. Any venue may have an unlimited number of entrants for The Landy Trophy, with the top three individual points scores to count in deciding The Landy Shield.

2. All entries for The Landy Trophy to be done on an individual basis, with entrants representing the venue with which they are affiliated according to VMA registration.

3. Points earned by unaffiliated runners will not count in calculating the scores. Runners who finish behind unaffiliated runners will receive the points allotted to their own finishing position and shall not be promoted to the higher points level.

4. All entries to be on a ‘first in’ basis, regardless of the numbers from each venue. Entrants for The Landy Trophy will automatically be deemed to be representatives of their nominated venues for The Landy Shield.

5. The Landy Shield is a perpetual trophy which will be presented to the top points scorer from the winning venue on behalf of the venue and held by that venue for the following 12 months.

6. Total points for each competitor will consist of the points earned in the qualifying heats plus bonus points earned in the finals.

7. Heats points will continue to be 10, 8, 7, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1.

8. Bonus points will be awarded as follows:
  • FINAL – 1st 8; 2nd 6; 3rd 5; all other starters 3.
  • CONSOLATION – 1st 5; 2nd 3; 3rd 2; all other starters 1.
9. In the event of a tie, the winner will the venue represented by the highest placed runner from the tied venues in the final, or the consolation final as the case may be.

10. If none of the tied venues has a representative in either of the finals, the winner will be decided on a countback on the basis of the greatest aggregate number of heat wins by the top three finishers from each venue, followed by the greatest number of seconds, and so on.

Landy Results

Archived Landy Results: